RSS

Daily Prompt: handmade gift

14 Nov

I sat in the tree a lot as a kid, when I came down dad was either away on the waters, or at home in his workshop. I was a scary boy, but I was the greatest kid who ever lived, the funniest, the most adorable boy in all the world. I know this because my mum told me, repeatedly. I remember I came home after running away for the third time that week, mum was hanging out the washing, and the food she had prepared for my journey had been eaten. Tomorrow was going to be my birthday, I would be ten-years old, finally. Tomorrow, yes, when I would get to go to bed a whole half hour later. Other kids could be heard from my bedroom, playing soccer, or yelling their tag games. I didn’t mind because when dad was home he would turn my bed into a ship, and we’d sail through storms…crash goes the mast…he would shout. When I woke up that next morning, next to my bed was a complete circus made of wood, with animals, clowns, and a circus master dressed in red. I have it to this day.

ringmaster

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/by-hand/

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Daily Prompt: handmade gift

  1. lifelessons

    November 15, 2014 at 4:09 am

    “I was a scary boy, but I was the greatest kid who ever lived, the funniest, the most adorable boy in all the world. I know this because my mum told me, repeatedly.” Hah! I make you sad, you make me happy…Is that a fair exchange? A sweet vignette!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. kellyshaw2001

    November 15, 2014 at 4:31 am

    You make me tearful…some sad is just the most exquisite pain. Kelly

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. lifelessons

    November 15, 2014 at 7:55 pm

    Agreed.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
